Pattern Testing · Skirts

Amy Nicole Studio | Patti Pocket Skirt Pattern Testing

I’m excited to share Amy Nicole’s FIRST pattern with you: the Patti Pocket skirt! I’ve admired Amy’s makes and blog since I started sewing, so I was thrilled to have the opportunity to test for her.

The Patti Pocket skirt is a combination pleated + flared skirt with popped-out, deep front pockets, a high waist, hem facings, and a side seam zipper.

Amy’s patterns are drafted for petite women: 5’4″ and under, so height adjustments were a must for me.  The instructions and illustrations are clear and large to easily be able to figure out what needs to be done in each step. Each of her patterns will be named after influential and inspiring women in her life, with the Patti Pocket skirt being named after her mother.  I love the sentimental value this adds the pattern.

I’ll apologize in advance for the fact that the skirt is wrinkly.  Yes, I did iron it, but wrinkles are the price you have to pay when you’re having to change in your car.

fullsizeoutput_3b11

The fabric recommendations are medium to heavy weight fabrics with little to no stretch.  However, Amy encourages the maker to have fun with the fabric choice, so even lighter weight fabrics can be used, like I did here.  Remember my navy Lonetree Jacket? I had enough fabric leftover from that to be able to use for this skirt! It’s a lightweight twill, which allows the skirt to hang closer to the body. I realizethat a solid navy skirt is not the most exciting fabric, but I really wanted the pleats to stand out in the pictures.  However, there were several other testers who made fabulous Patti skirts with printed fabric!

IMG_6247

The pocket comes in two views: mini and midi.  I sewed up the mini version in a size 6 and added 4″ in length to the skirt.  The goal was to make sure it wasn’t too short, but to still hit a couple inches above my knees.

This pattern is easily adaptable across every season and holiday making this a staple piece! Amy did such a great job on this pattern, and I’m looking forward to the other patterns she’ll create in the future!

Be sure to check out Amy’s blog for tester photos (coming November 16) and her shop to buy her pattern, of course!

IMG_6250

fullsizeoutput_3b13

Leave a Reply

