Dresses

Grainline Studio | Alder Shirtdress

Remember a while back when I professed my newfound love of shirtdresses?  Well that love has increased even more after having finished my first Alder Shirtdress.  This will be a short post because I really don’t have much to say other than I think its fabulous and I want a million more.

fullsizeoutput_39d9

IMG_5717-1

I’ve gotten into a great habit of making muslins.  However, I’ve taken a few steps back in recording the changes I’ve made.  These bad habits are a give and take thing over here.  Thanks to the muslin, I sewed up View B in a size 2 using this lightweight denim from Joann (or maybe it was this one).  I know the only adjustment I made was to the skirt length, but I can’t remember if it was more than an inch.  I don’t think it was, but don’t hold me to that.

Additionally, I added some inseam pockets to the skirt using a pocket pattern piece from a different pattern, but you could easily draft them yourself. While I still would have loved the dress without the pockets, the pockets make it SO much better.  Don’t you agree?

fullsizeoutput_39d8

fullsizeoutput_39db

Bottom line: shirtdresses are awesome.

 

3 thoughts on “Grainline Studio | Alder Shirtdress

  1. Your dress looks awesome, and your photos are fabulous! I’ve been a bit wary of shirt dresses (so many buttons and buttonholes 😬) – you may have inspired me to finally try one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I used to have so many issues with my machine and buttonholes, but there were so many patterns I wanted to try that had buttons, so I couldn’t avoid them any longer. Thankfully, I haven’t had too many issues since!

      Like

Leave a Reply

