Dresses · Pattern Testing

Chalk and Notch | Fringe Pattern Testing

Hello! I haven’t blogged as much as I would have liked this summer, but I’m so thrilled be sharing the latest Chalk and Notch pattern with you today. This pattern is effortless, chic and comfortable; all things you want in a sewing pattern, right? Gabriela has knocked it out of the park once again with the Fringe Top and Dress!

It seems like my  running theme is “effortless” because all of the pieces I’ve shared with you this summer have been just that: the dress you can just slip on and you don’t have to worry about intensive styling to help the piece look better. Don’t get me wrong, you can style it up more if you want, but you don’t have to (hence, effortless).

fullsizeoutput_36e4

The Fringe Top and Dress has two views, each with the option of being a top or a dress. View A features a button front, elbow sleeve and sleeve tab.  View B is a pull-over style top/dress with a notched front and a cuffed sleeve.  Both views have option front/back waist ties, gathered skirts and pockets (!) for the dress versions.  So it probably goes without saying, but this pattern is packed full of options!

fullsizeoutput_36d1

fullsizeoutput_36ea

I sewed up View B in a size 4 with zero adjustments.  The version I’m showing here is slightly different than the final version as some small adjustments were made. I believe the main change that might be noticeable here is that the neckline in the final version of View B is slightly higher than pictured.

fullsizeoutput_36a6

This pattern is meant for woven fabrics with great drape.  Think lightweight fabrics such as rayon, voile, double gauze and lawn.  I used this beautiful mauve sand-washed rayon from Stylish Fabric. It’s lightweight and a little slippery to sew with, but not too terrible if you’re patient with it.  Aside from a little fabric shifty-ness, this pattern is easy to sew up.  If you’ve ever sewn one of Chalk and Notch’s patterns, you’ll know that the instructions and illustrations are well-written and detailed so you’re not left wondering what’s going on.

 

I want to point out my favorite part of this dress, but I keep going back and forth between different aspects and I can’t choose just one thing because I truly love all the little details Gabriela added to this pattern.  Dropped shoulders so you don’t have to worry about setting in sleeves? Check.  Waist ties if you want a little more definition? Check.  Pockets? DOUBLE check. Multi-season wear? Check.

Speaking of multi-season wear…as I was sewing this dress I couldn’t get the idea of a fall outfit out of my mind.  I just HAD to get a picture of it. Yes, I was that crazy lady in tights in the absurd Houston heat and humidity.  I almost melted, but it was worth it.  You’re welcome.

fullsizeoutput_36dc

fullsizeoutput_36e2

I was hoping to have a second version to share with you, but that just hasn’t happened yet.  BUT, you better believe it’s coming.   I’m going to use some rayon challis that I picked up from Indiesew last year and have been hoarding ever since.  It has been sitting on the shelf, just waiting for the perfect pattern and this is it.  Really, I could go on and on about my love for this dress, but I’ll spare you my ramblings.

As always, Gabriela had a fantastic group of testers so go check out her blog, here, to see what everyone else created!  The Fringe will be on sale through August 28 so run and grab a copy now!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Chalk and Notch | Fringe Pattern Testing

Leave a Reply

