Clothing · Dresses

Allie Olson | Highlands Wrap Dress

Confession: I’ve pretty much hated wrap dresses up until recently. I can’t give you a decent reason as to why I had such disdain for them, I just did. So whenever I saw them in the store, I immediately walked passed and never gave a second thought to them.  However, all of my previous notions regarding wrap dresses vanished when Allie Olson released her latest pattern, the Highlands Wrap Dress.  Why have I been avoiding wrap dresses for so long? They’re so flattering and comfy!  More proof that sewing helps you leave your comfort zone and try new styles…and sometimes you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

The Highlands Wrap Dress is a beautiful, easy-to-wear dress that has two sleeve options (sleeveless or short sleeve) and two dress length options (midi or maxi).  The dress features button closures, in addition to the wraps, to guarantee there will be no unfortunate mishaps with the dress coming undone.  This is one of those dresses that you can throw on and immediately look put together.  I love effortless pieces like this!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I finished my dress just in time for a mini-vacation to New Orleans, with a couple quick stops in Crowley and Baton Rouge to see family.  Part of me thought it was kind of dumb of me to wear a maxi-dress in 90ยฐ+ heat, plus insane humidity when we were going to spend the majority of our day outside in said heat. However, I’m so glad I did because this dress was so airy and lightweight thanks to the fabric that I used, that it was no hotter than when I wore my Kalle shirtdress the next day! I was also determined to get pictures of this dress while we were in New Orleans (although, I now know just how hard it is to get decent photos of a black dress!).  Between walking through Jackson Square and up and down streets and streets of shops to getting drinks at Pat O’Briens, this dress was perfect for a day full of walking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
excuse the poorly tied bow ๐Ÿ˜€

This is the maxi-length size 4 graded to a 6 in the hips and length.  By grading out in the hips and using the size 6 length it meant I didn’t have to add any extra length to the skirt (woo!).  However, if I wanted to make a dress that is meant for heels, then I’d probably add an additional inch or so.   I almost added more length to the sleeves, but I’m glad I didn’t because the drafted length is perfect.  So aside from grading between sizes, I didn’t make any adjustments to the pattern.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used this fabric from Vogue Fabrics (only $4.99/yard).  It’s very lightweight and pretty slippery, but was nothing half a can of starch couldn’t fix.  It was my first time using spray starch for a sewing project, and it helped so much to mitigate the frustration that would have been present otherwise. 

The Highlands Wrap Dress will definitely be a repeatable pattern for me, but I plan on waiting to find the perfect fabric for the next version (something a little more substantial and nicer quality)!

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

