Sewing Plans

Summer Sewing Plans

I’ve been hard at work sewing up various items for my summer wardrobe, as well as some adorable baby shower gifts for friends.  There are a couple finished items, one of which I’ve already finished the blog post and just need to take pictures even though I’ve worn it tons since finishing it (I’m looking at you, Kalle Shirtdress).  However, since I haven’t done a sewing plans post in a while, I figured I’d share what I have on my To-Sew list for the summer until I get around to taking pictures of my recent makes!

I have some lofty goals for this summer…well lofty for me considering it takes me probably twice as long as most people to finish projects.  We’re going on a couple trips this summer and my goal is to wear at least one article of handmade clothing each day. Thankfully, one of those trips is just a long weekend so that will be really easy to accomplish.

Now, if you successfully completed Me Made May then this is no feat for you.  I realized that I didn’t have enough summer clothing, let alone enough clothes to successfully complete the entire challenge.  This year did show me what I want to focus on after (hopefully) completing my #2017MakeNine. But more on that a different day.

My list is broken out by month to help it seem more manageable and organized for myself.  I haven’t been the best at sticking to my sewing plans posts in the past, but one can dream this time it’ll be different!

June

  • Highlands Wrap Dress – I plan on sewing up View A, the maxi length, but with sleeves in a black rayon challis.
  • Farrah Top – Remember when I talked about my tester version and I said I was going to be making my second one? Well, I’m just now getting around to it.  All the pieces are cut and ready to be sewn!
  • Ogden Cami – I made my first one in a size 4, but it was a bit too big for my taste.  I’m going to try a size 2 and attempt to raise the back a bit as well as adding a ruffle at the bottom. If what I’m envisioning becomes reality, it’s going to be super cute! I plan on using some leftover chambray fabric from StyleMaker that I used for my first Orla dress.

July

  • Ginger Jeans – I have been talking about starting these for months, but in July I’m finally going to jump right in and make them. Most recently, I have been trying to decide if I want to sew up the high- or low-waisted version and I’m 97% certain I’m going to try the high-waisted ones (suuuper indecisive over here). In order to pump myself up to finally sew jeans, I’ve been reading the sewalong at least once a week for the past month.
  • Fairfield Buttonup – Nick’s “wearable muslin” has been finished for about a month or so, but it’s more muslin than wearable, unfortunately.  I’m not too bummed about it, though, because I really wasn’t thrilled with the fabric I was using, plus it was my first time sewing flat-felled seams, aaand I was super careless and cut into the placket when I was snipping threads, so the shirt really left a lot to be desired.  Also, despite measuring and re-measuring Nick’s sizes, I chose the incorrect size so the shirt doesn’t fit all that great.  I’m going to size up for the next one and be extra cautious.
  • Lodo Dress – there are so many cute versions all over Instagram and I want to hop on the bandwagon!
  • Minttu Top – This is part of Indiesew’s 2017 Spring/Summer Collection (as is the Highlands Wrap Dress). I love the look of the high neckline in conjunction with it being sleeveless.  I’m using some modal jersey knit from Cali Fabrics.
  • Scout Tee – I haven’t made one since my first version almost a year ago! The bodice and sleeves on this version will be lengthened a bit and will feature some left over Les Fleurs fabric from my latest Colfax dress.

August

  • Fairfield Buttonup – another one!
  • Alder Shirt Dress – whenever I post my Kalle Shirtdress post, you’ll hear about my newfound love for shirtdresses
  • Lonetree Jacket – just like the Farrah top, I talked about my intentions of making the jacket version a couple months ago. I intend on it actually getting made.
  • Trevi Top/Dress – I’m not sure which version I want to make yet, nor do I have fabric to make it, but I love the silhouette of this dress and top.
  • Seamly Tee – I’ve been eyeing it for a while and after following Lara’s search for the perfect t-shirt, I want to finally try it!

Throw in a couple of gifts that I want to make, that’s a full summer of sewing! I can’t wait to start tackling some of these projects.  What’s on your summer sewing list?

2 thoughts on “Summer Sewing Plans

Leave a Reply

