Dresses · Pattern Testing

Chalk and Notch | Farrah Pattern Testing

I’ve had so much fun having the opportunity to test a few patterns recently and this is no exception! When Gabriela posted the Tester Call on her blog, I jumped at the opportunity. There’s something so exciting about being part of a group of extremely talented ladies, all of whom have amazing sewing blogs and/or Instagram inspiration, to help test a fabulous pattern.  Gabriela is incredibly encouraging and put so much work into the Farrah pattern to make it perfect!

This was my first Chalk and Notch Pattern to sew and it certainly will not be my last.  The instructions are well thought out and detailed to guarantee a beautiful garment.

The Farrah Pattern is a women’s blouse or dress with two view options, a side slit and a high-low hem.  View A, which I sewed up, features ruffled sleeves. View B is sleeveless with a front ruffle.  This pattern is designed to be fitted in the bust and loose through the waist and hips making it a perfect dress/blouse for spring and summer, especially for the hot days that we’re already experiencing here in Houston!

fullsizeoutput_34f2

Since this was my tester version, I sewed up a size 4 with zero adjustments.  I could have graded out to a size 6 in the hips, but since this is designed to be loose-fitting, the size 4 worked great and was not tight in the least.  Whenever I make the dress again, I may add about an inch or so to the front length of the dress based purely on personal preference.

fullsizeoutput_355f

fullsizeoutput_34e9

I used this viscose-rayon from fabric.com because I love me a good maroon/burgundy fabric and it was the right price, but this fabric is pretty thin.  Since the front and back yokes are lined and constructed in such a way that there are zero exposed edges, this becomes a non-issue (at least for me) if I was making the blouse.  However,  if you decide to use something thin similar to this, and you want to make a dress I highly recommend underlining the bottom portion of the dress unless you don’t mind wearing a slip.  Lesson for me on buying fabric.  This doesn’t take away my love for this dress, though! It’ll get lots of wear this summer, for sure.

This dress sews up very easily and taught me how to use a new sewing foot–the rolled hem foot.  If it’s your first time using it as well, I recommend practicing on a test piece of fabric, as you should with any new technique…a lesson I still haven’t quite mastered.  The only issue I had (and in no way is a fault of the instructions or pattern), however, was when it came time to sew in the gussets, which I think stemmed from the fabric being super finicky and stretching a bit.  I may try using some starch on my next version to help with the finicky aspect.

The pattern is listed as intermediate difficulty, but I think if you’re a confident beginner and take each step slowly, you’ll definitely be able to conquer it!

fullsizeoutput_34ef

I already have the fabric washed and ready to be cut for my second version using this fun fabric! I’ll be making View A again, but as a blouse mainly so I don’t need to underline the entire bodice because this, too, is a really lightweight fabric.  Another dress version is also on my to-sew list out of some higher quality fabric and a fun print. A few fabric options I’m considering are:

1/2/3/4/5

Clearly I have florals on the brain!

The Farrah Pattern is on sale through Monday, April 17.  Also, be sure to check the Chalk and Notch blog to see all the amazing tops and dresses created by the other testers. Seriously, there’s so much Farrah inspiration there!

5 thoughts on “Chalk and Notch | Farrah Pattern Testing

  1. I love your version and I’m excited to see your your next one too! Such a lovely fabric round up, such great resources! Thanks again for joining 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

