Dresses · Pattern Testing

Sew Caroline | Coffee Shop Dress Pattern Test

I’m excited to share with you the latest pattern from Sew Caroline: the Coffee Shop Dress!  This will surely be another great addition to your wardrobe and a summer staple.  Why? Because it was 90° when we took these pictures back in February.  FEBRUARY.  There is so much wrong with that, but the Coffee Shop dress makes the heat bearable.

The Coffee Shop dress features two sleeve options, a relaxed fit and endless possibilities for dressing this up or down.  For my first version I sewed up a straight size small with zero adjustments using this fabric (but in a olive green) from Joann.  It sewed up well, but it did not hold up as well in the wash as I would have liked.  That won’t stop me from wearing it all the time, though.  The pattern is designed to hit at the knee, however, because I am 5’9″ it is a couple inches above.

This is going to be a perfect weekend dress! If I can find the perfect navy/white striped fabric, I can easily Make+Replace one of my favorite RTW Old Navy dresses using this pattern!

My second version features the 3/4 length sleeves.  I wanted it to hit right at my knees so I added about 1.5″ to the length.  I had been eyeing this bright magenta liverpool knit for a while , so when I was selected to test this pattern I took it as my opportunity to buy it!  It has great stretch and recovery, but I didn’t think about how much differently it would drape and fit in comparison to a rayon blend.  I still love the end result, but I have to be careful about what I wear with it.  If I make another liverpool version, I will probably grade out to a medium in the hips.

fullsizeoutput_33a9

fullsizeoutput_33a1
How fun is this wall?! This is at 2101 Polk St.

I typically don’t wear such a bright color, especially by itself, but I really love the pop that this has!   This dress will get lots of wear this summer, but will also be a great transition piece into our Houston “fall/winter” (if you can even call it that).

We also couldn’t pass up taking some more pictures in front of this wall at 1502 Sawyer St.

fullsizeoutput_33a6

I know you can’t really see the dress in this picture, but this wall is just so pretty.  How am I supposed to go back to taking pictures in my dining room when there are so many awesome places around town?!

Because you cannot have too many Coffee Shop Dresses, I have a finished staple gray dress and a floral version.  That’s four Coffee Shop dresses that have already been added on regular weekend rotation and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t plan on making more!

Go check out Sew Caroline’s shop and pick up the Coffee Shop dress! It’s one of those patterns you just have to have!

untitled

photography: Paige Norrholm

p.s. Thanks to Paige for making me seem much cooler and way less awkward than I usually am! Also, I need some sun.

7 thoughts on “Sew Caroline | Coffee Shop Dress Pattern Test

  1. These are so cute! Also those walls….what awesome backgrounds. I’m going to send my copy off to the copy shop today and feel like this will be on my weekend sewing list without question!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your pics, I really need to up my blog photo game haha. Just wondering, how did you find the fit of this pattern? I’m on the hunt for a good t shirt style dress pattern but I’m not after a bodycon style.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!

      My hip measurements put me at a medium, but I found making a straight size small to still have a couple extra inches of ease in the dress to not make it super tight. I made a small graded to a medium at the hips and it’s almost too loose (albeit super comfy). I hope that helps! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gina!

      There was some minor stretching (due to poor stretch-recovery) and fraying of the raw edges after I washed/dried it. Typically, you don’t have fraying when it comes to knits, but I attribute that to being because it’s not that great quality of knit and maybe the way it was manufactured because it’s a reversible fabric. I hope that helps! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

