Uncategorized

Hey June Handmade | Cheyenne Tunic

photography: Naps & Mimosas

Whenever I’m preparing to make a pattern for the first time I read through the pattern instructions probably about fifteen times to make sure I feel comfortable and can visualize each step…I wish I was joking.  If there is a sew-along that goes with the pattern, even better! I love looking at all my available resources to ensure a successful project.  Like many of you, my sewing time is precious so I don’t want to waste time messing up and struggling when I can be accomplishing things (not that this is a fool-proof plan).

That brings me to my Cheyenne Tunic.  Adrianna at Hey June Handmade is fabulous when it comes to writing clear and concise instructions!  I love the popover style top because it’s the perfect balance of casual, but still put together.  I have already made one (check out my favorite makes page) and loved it so much that I decided I NEEDED another. Yes, needed.  And what better time to wear the new shirt than for Nick’s and my first time hosting Thanksgiving?  While Nick was being awesome and focusing on the food (my cooking is laughable), my friend, Paige, and I went off to document the shirt.  While taking pictures in front of my house is not ideal, it still worked.

img_2262

Both Cheyennes that I made were version B, but for my second one I used the long sleeves and I made the tunic-length.  This was my first time doing a long sleeve placket, but the directions made it really easy to understand.  I made a straight size small with some flannel from my local Joann Fabric, and I  love how cozy it is.

fullsizeoutput_2eb9

fullsizeoutput_2d8f

Now if it could just get cold enough to wear it and not look ridiculous in the 70º weather, that would be great.  But being that I’m in Texas, that’s a bit too much to ask (insert all the eye roll emojis).

Here’s one more picture of Nick, Paige, Jake and myself waiting for the turkey to finish.

fullsizeoutput_2d91.jpeg

 

Now to start on the Christmas pajamas that I’ve been putting off!

-Lara

 

 Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

